ETFE (ethylene tetrafluoroethylene) is a fluorine based plastic. It is specifically designed to have a high corrosion resistance and strength over a wide temperature range. The tensile strength approaches 42 MPA. With a working temperature of -185 °C – 150 °C. When burned ETFE releases hydrofluoric acid, which is extremely corrosive and toxic.

ETFE

ETFE resin combines superior mechanical toughness with an outstanding chemical inertness that approaches that of fluoroplastic resins. Furthermore ETFE is resistant to ultraviolet light. It can be processed easily and features a specific gravity of 1.7, and high-energy radiation resistance. ETFE film is self-cleaning due to its nonstick surface.

ETFE can be heat sealed, thermoformed, vacuum formed, heat bonded, welded, metallized and laminated. This high-performance film is used in several industries, such as semi-conductor, aerospace, architecture and agriculture. Due to its exceptional durability, UV transparency and anti-fouling properties, it is used in outdoor architectural applications, greenhouses and solar cells.

Key properties
  • Very high melting temperature
  • Superior mechanical toughness
  • Resistant to radiation
  • Resistant to many aggressive chemicals (acids/organic solvents)
  • Resistant to ultraviolet light
  • Good resistance to wear
  • Self-cleaning
Applications
  • Covering of electrical and fibre-optic wiring (aerospace)
  • Semi-conductor industry
  • Tower packing
  • Safety insulated tools
  • Thermoplastic liner in pipes, tanks, and vessels for additional protection
  • Pneumatic panels

DATASHEET

Property
UNIT
NORM
Value
Mechanical properties
Hardness Shore D
Sh. D
DIN 53 505
62 - 72
Ball pressure hardness
N/mm²
DIN 53 456
34 - 40
Tensile strength (23°C)
N/mm²
DIN 53 455
36 - 48
Elongation at break (23°C)
%
DIN 53 455
200 - 350
Tensile modulus (23°C)
N/mm²
DIN 53 457
500 - 1200
Coefficient of friction v-steel - Dynamic
--
0.4
SHOW MORE

L’ETFE (éthylène tétrafluoroéthylène) est une résine fluorée conçue spécifiquement pour avoir une haute résistance à la corrosion et une haute puissance à travers une large plage de température. La résistance à la traction atteint 42 MPA. Avec une température active de -185°C à 150°C. Lorsque l’ETFE est brûle, il libère de l’acide fluorhydrique, qui est très corrosive et toxique.

ETFE

La résine EFTE combine une résilience mécanique supérieure à une inertie chimique excellente presque du même niveau des résines fluorées. En plus, l’ETFE est résistant à la lumière UV. Il peut être transformé aisément et a une gravité spécifique de 1.7 et une résistance au rayonnement à haute énergie. Le film EFTE est autonettoyant grâce à sa surface non collante.

L’ETFE peut être scellé et formé thermiquement, formé sous vide, thermocollé, soudé, métallisé et laminé. Ce film à performances élevées est utilisé dans des industries diverses, comme celle des semi-conducteurs, l’aérospatial, l’architecture et l’agriculture. À cause de sa durabilité exceptionnelle, sa transparence UV et ses propriétés anti-salissure, l’ETFE est utilisé pour des applications architecturales extérieures, des serres chaudes et des cellules solaires.

Propriétés principales
  • température de fusion très haute
  • solidité mécanique supérieure
  • résistance au rayonnement
  • résistance à maints produits chimiques (acides/solvants organiques)
  • résistance à la lumière UV
  • résistance excellente à l’usure
  • autonettoyant
Applications
  • revêtement de câblage électrique et fibre-optique (aérospatial)
  • industrie des semi-conducteurs
  • corps de remplissage
  • sécurité outils isothermes
  • liner thermoplastique dans tuyaux, tubes et cuves
  • panneaux pneumatiques

DATASHEET

Property
UNIT
NORM
Value
Mechanical properties
Hardness Shore D
Sh. D
DIN 53 505
62 - 72
Ball pressure hardness
N/mm²
DIN 53 456
34 - 40
Tensile strength (23°C)
N/mm²
DIN 53 455
36 - 48
Elongation at break (23°C)
%
DIN 53 455
200 - 350
Tensile modulus (23°C)
N/mm²
DIN 53 457
500 - 1200
Coefficient of friction v-steel - Dynamic
--
0.4
SHOW MORE