A polyamide (PA) is a macromolecule with repeating units linked by amide bonds. It is better known by its trade name Nylon®, introduced by Dupont. It was the first purely synthetic fiber.

PA

The aromatic polyamides (aramids) have higher strength, better solvent, flame and heat resistance and greater dimensional stability than aliphatic amides (nylon) but are more expensive and difficult to produce. The two most important aromatic amides are poly(p-phenylene terphthalamide), also known as Kevlar® and poly(m-phenylene isophthalamide). The aliphatic polyamides are the most important class of engineering thermoplastics.

The fully aromatic structure and the strong hydrogen bonds between the aramid chains result in high melting points, ultra high tensile strength at low weight, and excellent flame and heat resistance as well as good dimensional stability and solvent resistance at room and elevated temperature. The two most important aliphatic polyamides are poly (hexamethylene adipamide) (Nylon 6,6) and polycaprolactam (Nylon 6). Both have excellent mechanical properties including high tensile strength, high flexibility, good resilience, low creep and high impact strength (toughness

PA is used for mechanical parts such as machine screws, gears and other low- to medium-stress components previously cast in metal. It can be used as the matrix material in composite materials, with reinforcing fibers like glass or carbon fiber; such a composite has a higher density than pure nylon. Such thermoplastic composites (25% glass fiber) are frequently used in car components next to the engine, such as intake manifolds, where the good heat resistance of such materials makes them feasible competitors to metals.

Key properties
  • High durability and tensile strength
  • High wear resistance
  • High melting points
  • Good chemical resistance
  • High mechanical damping characteristics
  • Low creep
Applications
  • Textiles, automotive applications, carpets and sportswear
  • Transportation manufacturing industry
  • Composite materials
  • Safety airbags

DATASHEET

Property
UNIT
NORM
Value
SHOW MORE

Un polyamide (PA) est une macromolécule avec des motifs de répétition liés par des liaisons amides. Il est connu mieux sous son nom de marque Nylon®, introduit par DuPont. C’était le premier fibre purement synthétique.

PA

Les polyamides aromatiques (aramides) ont une puissance plus élevée, une meilleure résistance aux solvants, aux flammes et à la chaleur, et disposent d’une stabilité dimensionnelle plus grande que les amides aliphatiques (nylon), mais ils sont plus coûteux et plus difficiles à produire. Les deux amides aromatiques les plus importantes sont le poly(p-phénylènetéréphtalamide, mieux connu comme Kevlar®, et le poly(m-phénylène isophthalamide). Les polyamides aliphatiques constituent la classe la plus importante des thermoplastiques d’ingénierie.

La structure entièrement aromatique et les liaisons hydrogènes fortes entre les chaînes d’aramides résultent en des températures de fusion élevées, une résistance à la traction extrêmement élevée à poids léger, une résistance aux flammes et à la chaleur excellente, ainsi qu’en une stabilité dimensionnelle adéquate et une résistance aux solvants à des températures ambiantes et élevées. Les deux polyamides aliphatiques les plus importantes sont poly(hexaméthylène adipamide) (Nylon 6,6) et polycaprolactam (Nylon 6). Ils ont les deux des propriétés mécaniques excellentes, inclusif une résistance à la traction élevée, une haute flexibilité, une résilience adéquate, un fluage faible, et une résistance aux chocs élevée.

PA est utilisé pour des pièces mécaniques comme des vis de machine, des engrenages et d’autres composants à tension basse/medium auparavant fondus en métal. Il peut être utilisé comme matériau de matrice dans des matériaux composites, avec des fibres de renforcement comme du verre ou de la fibre de carbone; un tel composite a une densité plus grande que le nylon pur. De tels composites thermoplastiques (25% fibre de verre) sont utilisés fréquemment dans les composants de voiture près du moteur, comme des tuyaux d’admission, où la résistance à la chaleur adéquate de tels matériaux les rend très compétitifs par rapport aux métaux.

Key properties
  • High durability and tensile strength
  • High wear resistance
  • High melting points
  • Good chemical resistance
  • High mechanical damping characteristics
  • Low creep

DATASHEET

Property
UNIT
NORM
Valeur
SHOW MORE