POM (Polyoxymethylene, also known as acetal, polyacetal and polyformaldehyde) is a formaldehyde-based semi-crystalline engineering thermoplastic containing the functional group of a carbon bonded to two -OR groups. It is 100% recyclable.

POM

POM (Polyoxymethylene, also known as acetal, polyacetal and polyformaldehyde) is a formaldehyde-based semi-crystalline engineering thermoplastic containing the functional group of a carbon bonded to two -OR groups. It is 100% recyclable. The best know brand name is Delrin® by Dupont. Other commercial names include Celcon®, Tenac®, Duracon® and Ultraform®.

POM is characterized by its high strength, hardness and rigidity to 40 °C, with a melting point of 175 °C.  Among plastic materials POM is the one with the most crystalline structure. It is known for its good fatigue/creep resistance, low friction and good performance in cold temperatures. Acetal resins are produced by the polymerization of purified formaldehyde. However, different manufacturing processes are used to produce the homopolymer and the copolymer versions of POM. POM grades are often produced with various degrees of polymerization resulting in different properties to meet demanding applications.

POM is an engineering thermoplastic used in precision parts that require high stiffness, low friction and excellent dimensional stability. The polymer serves as an alternative to metals thanks to its low friction and wear characteristics and its excellent balance of mechanical and chemical properties. Only a few polymers can withstand permanent contact with the diverse and increasingly aggressive automotive fuels. That is why POM is the preferred material for modern fuel systems.

Key properties
  • High strength/hardness
  • High rigidity to -40°C with a melting point of 165°C
  • Maximal continuous operating temperature 90 °C
  • High abrasion resistance
  • Low coefficient of friction
  • Good electrical and dielectric properties
  • Low water absorption
  • Excellent dimensional stability
  • Design flexibility
Applications
  • Mechanical gears, sliding and guiding elements
  • Fuel systems
  • Electrical engineering
  • Molded-in-low-gloss affect for automotive interior
  • Medical industry: insulin pen, metered dose inhalers (MDI)
  • Pumping, conveying and controlling aqueous fluids

DATASHEET

Property
UNIT
NORM
Value
Ball pressure hardness
N/mm²
DIN 53456
160
Tensile strength (23°C)
N/mm²
DIN 53455
70
Elongation at break (23°C)
%
DIN 53455
30
Tensile modulus (23°C)
N/mm²
DIN 53457
3000
Coefficient of friction v-steel - Dynamic
--
0.35
Water absorption
%
DIN 53495
0.9
SHOW MORE

POM (polyoxyméthylène, aussi connu comme acétal, polyacétal et polyformaldéhyde) est un thermoplastique d’ingénierie semi-cristallin basé sur la formaldéhyde, qui contient le groupe fonctionnel d’un carbone lié à deux groupes -OR. Il est 100% recyclable. La marque la meilleure connue est Delrin® de Dupont. D’autres noms commerciaux sont Celcon®, Tenac®, Duracon® et Ultraform®.

POM

POM se caractérise par sa puissance élevée, sa dureté et sa rigidité jusqu’à 40°C, avec un point de fusion de 175°C. Parmi les matériaux plastiques, le POM a la structure cristalline la plus grande. Il est connu pour sa résistance à la fatigue et au fluage, son faible frottement et ses performances adéquates lors de températures froides. Les résines acétal sont produites par la polymérisation de formaldéhyde purifié, bien que des procédures de traitement différentes sont utilisées pour produire les versions homopolymère et copolymère du POM. Les grades POM sont produites fréquemment avec des degrés différents de polymérisation, ce qui résulte en des propriétés différentes afin de pouvoir satisfaire aux applications sévères. La marque la meilleure connue est Delrin® de Dupont. D’autres noms commerciaux sont Celcon®, Tenac®, Duracon® et Ultraform®.

Le POM est un thermoplastique d’ingénierie utilisé dans les composants de précision nécessitant une rigidité élevée, un faible frottement et une stabilité dimensionnelle excellente. Le polymère est un alternatif aux métaux grâce à son faible frottement, ses propriétés d’usure et son équilibre de propriétés mécaniques et chimiques. Quelques polymères seulement sont capables de résister au contact permanent avec les carburants automotive divers et de plus en plus agressifs, ce qui est la raison pour laquelle le POM est préféré dans les systèmes de carburant actuels.

Propriétés principales
  • Puissance/dureté élevée
  • Rigidité élevée jusqu’à 40°C avec un point de fusion de 165°C
  • Température de fonctionnement continue maximale de 90°C
  • Résistance élevée à l’abrasion
  • Faible coefficient de frottement
  • Propriétés électriques et diélectriques adéquates
  • Faible absorption d’eau
  • Stabilité dimensionnelle excellente
  • Flexibilité de conception
Applications
  • vitesses mécaniques, éléments de fluage et de guidage
  • systèmes de carburants
  • ingénierie électrique
  • intérieur automotive: effet low-gloss moulé
  • industrie médicale, stylo à insuline, inhalateurs-doseurs
  • pompage, transport et contrôle des fluides aqueux

DATASHEET

Property
UNIT
NORM
Value
Ball pressure hardness
N/mm²
DIN 53456
160
Tensile strength (23°C)
N/mm²
DIN 53455
70
Elongation at break (23°C)
%
DIN 53455
30
Tensile modulus (23°C)
N/mm²
DIN 53457
3000
Coefficient of friction v-steel - Dynamic
--
0.35
Water absorption
%
DIN 53495
0.9
SHOW MORE