PVDF (polyvinylidene difluoride) is a highly non-reactive and pure thermoplastic fluoropolymer. It is produced by the polymerization of vinylidene difluoride. Compared to other fluoropolymers, it has an easier melt process because of its relatively low melting point of around 177°C.

PVDF

An extremely hard material, PVDF may be used at temperatures from -62 °C tot 149 °C. Compared to other fluoropolymers, PVDF has a low density (1,78 g/cm³). PVDF has a very good creep resistance that is superior to that of other fluoropolymers. It is unaffected by long-term exposure to sunlight and other sources of ultraviolet radiation. It retains its properties in high vacuum and gamma radiation and is resistant to most acids and alkalis.

PVDF is a specialty plastic material in the fluoropolymer family; it is generally used in applications requiring the highest purity, strength, and resistance to solvents, acids, bases and heat and low smoke generation during a fire event. It is available as piping products, sheet, tubing, films, plate and an insulator for premium wire. It can be injected, molded or welded and is commonly used in the chemical, semiconductor, medical and defense industries, as well as in lithium-ion batteries. Used increasingly in aviation and aerospace applications.

Key properties
  • Excellent thermal stability
  • Excellent resistance to creep and fatigue
  • Protects against radiation
  • High dielectric constant
  • Low density
  • Fire resistance
  • UV-resistant
Applications
  • Insulation on electrical wires
  • Tactile sensor arrays, strain gauges and audio transducers
  • Commonly used in the chemical, semiconductor, medical and defense industries
  • Binder material for composite electrodes in lithium ion batteries
  • Artificial membranes
  • Piezo-electric panels

DATASHEET

Property
UNIT
NORM
Value
Mechanical properties
Hardness Shore D
Sh. D
DIN 53 505
72 - 82
Ball pressure hardness
N/mm²
DIN 53 456
62 - 68
Tensile strength (23°C)
N/mm²
DIN 53 455
38 - 50
Elongation at break (23°C)
%
DIN 53 455
20 - 80
Tensile modulus (23°C)
N/mm²
DIN 53 457
800 - 1800
Coefficient of friction v-steel - Dynamic
--
0.45
SHOW MORE

PVDF (polyfluorure de vinylidène) est un thermoplastique fluoropolymère pur et hautement non réactif. Il est produit par la polymérisation de vinylidène difluoride. Comparé aux autres fluoropolymères, il a un processus de fusion plus facile, puisqu’il a un point de fusion relativement bas de ± 177°C.

PVDF

Le PVDF est un matériau extrêmement dur et peut donc être utilisé à des températures entre -62°C et 149°C. Comparé aux autres fluoropolymères, il a une faible densité (1,78 g/cm³). Il a une résistance au fluage très bonne, supérieure à celle d’autres fluoropolymères. Son insolubilité hautement désirée et ses propriétés électriques résultent des groupes CH2 et CF2 alternants dans la chaîne polymère. Il n’est pas affecté par l’exposition à long terme à la lumière de soleil et à d’autres sources de radiation UV. Il garde ses propriétés sous vide élevée et sous radiation gamma et est résistant à la plupart des acides et alcalis.

PVDF est un matériau plastique spéciale de la famille des fluoropolymères; il est utilisé généralement dans des applications qui demandent la pureté, la puissance, la résistance aux solvants, acides, bases, à la chaleur et à la génération de fumée basse lors d’un incendie les plus élevées. Il est disponible pour tuyaux, toiles, tubage, films, plaques et isolateurs pour du câblage premium. Il peut être injecté, moulé et soudé et est utilisé couramment dans les industries chimique, de semi-conducteurs, médicale et de défense, ainsi que dans les batteries Li-ion. Utilisé de plus en plus dans des applications d’aviation et aérospatiales.

Propriétés principales
  • stabilité thermique excellente
  • résistance au fluage et à la fatigue excellente
  • protège contre la radiation
  • constante diélectrique élevée
  • faible densité
  • ignifuge
  • UV-résistant
Applications
  • isolation de câblage électrique
  • capteurs tactiles, tensiomètres, transducteurs audio
  • secteurs chimique, de semi-conducteurs, médicale et de défense
  • matériau liant pour électrodes composites dans batteries Li-ion
  • membranes artificielles
  • panneaux piézo-électriques

DATASHEET

Property
UNIT
NORM
Value
Mechanical properties
Hardness Shore D
Sh. D
DIN 53 505
72 - 82
Ball pressure hardness
N/mm²
DIN 53 456
62 - 68
Tensile strength (23°C)
N/mm²
DIN 53 455
38 - 50
Elongation at break (23°C)
%
DIN 53 455
20 - 80
Tensile modulus (23°C)
N/mm²
DIN 53 457
800 - 1800
Coefficient of friction v-steel - Dynamic
--
0.45
SHOW MORE