PCTFE (polychlorotrifluoroethylene) is a thermoplastic chlorofluoropolymer with the molecular formula (CF2CCIF)n. It is chemically related to PTFE (polytetrafluoroethylene) and it has the lowest water vapor transmission rate of any plastic. Other names for PCTFE are Kel-F® (a product from 3M) or Neoflon® (a product of Daikin Industries).

PCTFE’s most striking property is its capability to operate and maintain its elasticity at extremely low temperatures. It also has one of the highest limiting oxygen index. Because PCTFE is a highly fluorinated resin, it is non-flammable and resists most corrosive chemicals. It exhibits properties like zero moisture absorption and non-wetting. It does not absorb visible light. PCTFE also maintains its outstanding electrical-insulating capability through thermal cycling and in high-humidity environments.

PCTFE’s high compressive strength and dimensional stability make it a good choice for structural material. Its low outgassing rate and permeability is used in instrumentation, laboratory, aerospace and flight applications.

Key properties
  • Dimensional stability
  • High resistance to cold flow
  • Excellent chemical resistance
  • Transparent and colored
  • Near zero moisture absorption
  • Non-flammable
  • High rigidity (difficult to deform)
  • Radiation resistance
Applications
  • Cryogenic applications
  • Protection of LCD panels (sensitive to moisture)
  • Film for food and pharmaceutical packaging
  • Valves and seals
  • Protective barrier against chemicals
  • Laminating other polymers (PVC, PP)

DATASHEET

Property
UNIT
NORM
Value
SHOW MORE

PCTFE (polychlorotrifluoroéthylène) est un polymère chlorofluoré thermoplastique avec la formule moléculaire (CF2CCIF)n. Il est allié chimiquement à PTFE (polytétrafluoroéthylène) et dispose du coefficient de transmission de vapeur d’eau la plus basse de tous les plastiques. D’autres noms sont Kel-F® (un produit de 3M) ou Neoflon® (un produit de Daikin Industries).

PCTFE

La propriété la plus marquante de PCTFE est sa capacité d’opérer et de maintenir son élasticité à des températures extrêmement basses. Il a aussi un indice limite d’oxygène des plus élevés. Puisque le PCTFE est une résine très fluorée, il est ignifuge et résistant à la plupart des produits chimiques corrosifs. Il dispose des propriétés telles que l’absorption d’humidité nulle et l’état non-mouillant. Il n’absorbe pas la lumière visible. Le PCTFE maintient aussi ses capacités électriques-isolantes excellentes par le cyclage thermique et dans des environnement à haute humidité.

La puissance de compression élevée et la stabilité dimensionnelle du PCTFE le rendent un produit adéquat pour des matériaux structurels. Sa vitesse de dégazage et sa perméabilité sont utilisées dans l’instrumentation, et dans des applications de laboratoire, aérospatiales et de vol.

Propriétés principales
  • stabilité dimensionnelle
  • résistance élevée à l’écoulement à froid
  • résistance chimique élevée
  • transparent et coloré
  • absorption de l’humidité presque nulle
  • ignifuge
  • haute rigidité (difficile à déformer)
  • résistance au rayonnement
Applications
  • applications cryogènes
  • protection des panneaux LCD (sensibles à l’humidité)
  • film pour emballages d’aliments et pharmaceutiques
  • clapets et enduits
  • barrière protectrice contre produits chimiques
  • laminage d’autres polymères (PVC, PP)

DATASHEET

Property
UNIT
NORM
Valeur
Mechanical properties
Hardness Shore D
Sh. D
DIN 53 505
72 - 80
Ball pressure hardness
N/mm²
DIN 53 456
65 - 70
Tensile strength (23°C)
N/mm²
DIN 53 455
32 - 40
Elongation at break (23°C)
%
DIN 53 455
30 - 120
Tensile modulus (23°C)
N/mm²
DIN 53 457
1000 - 2000
Coefficient of friction v-steel - Dynamic
--
0.35
SHOW MORE