Vespel® (polyimide) is the trademark of a range of durable high-performance polyimide-based plastics manufactured by Dupont. Unlike most plastics, it does not produce significant outgassing even at high temperatures, which makes it useful for lightweight heat shields and crucible support.

Vespel®

Vespel® is an extremely high temperature, creep resistant plastic material that is often used in high heat environments where thermoplastic materials lose their mechanical properties. Vespel®, a lightweight alternative to metal, is available in a variety of formulations including unfilled grades and several low friction and wear grades. It exhibits enhanced mechanical properties and superior thermal stability. It also performs well in vacuum applications, down to extremely low cryogenic temperatures. Other brand names are Meldin®, Tecasint® and Plavis®.

The Vespel® products are highly durable polyimides used in demanding applications where exceptional thermal resistance, low wear and/or low friction, strength and impact resistance are desired. This high-performance polymer is mostly used in aerospace, semiconductor and transportation technology.

Key properties
  • Dimensional and thermal stability
  • Creep resistance
  • Excellent heat and chemical resistance
  • Performance in high pressure, high temperature and low temperature sealing solutions
  • Excellent bearing and wear properties
  • Electrical insulating
Applications
  • Semiconductor and material handling machinery
  • Chip test sockets
  • Wafer clamping rings
  • Valve seats and sealing applications
  • Spline couplings
  • High performance bearings and bushings
  • Locking fasteners for aerospace
  • Pivot bushings on unison ring

Vespel® SP-1

Vespel SP1Vespel® SP-1 virgin polyimide is an unfilled base resin. It scores better than all other Vespel® grades on strength, elongation, purity and electric and thermal insulation. It can operate in temperatures between cryogenic and 300 °C. Thanks to its resistance to stress relaxation, Vespel® SP-1 will prove to be a highly reliable seal, even outperforming metal-to-metal seals with much narrower tolerances. More info

Vespel® SP-21

Vespel SP21Vespel® SP-21  is enhanced with graphite (15% per weight). This addition results in increased resistance and reduced friction. It has the incredible advantage that it can be used with our without lubrication in various applications. This makes Vespel® SP-21 a popular choice for automotive producers to use in for example thrust washers, bearings or seals. Of all graphite filled grades, Vespel® SP-21 shows the best mechanical properties. More info

Vespel® SP-211

Vespel SP211Vespel® SP-211 contains 10% PTFE and 15% graphite by weight. If you need an even lower coefficient of friction, then Vespel® SP-211 will be the best choice for you. This grade guarantees excellent wear resistance up to 149 °C. Any application that suffers from wear and friction, like sliding or liner bearings, will benefit greatly from the advantages of Vespel® SP-211. More info

Vespel® SP-22

Vespel SP22Vespel® SP-22 is enhanced with 40% graphite per weight, resulting in minimal thermal expansion and maximal dimensional stability. Furthermore, this grade delivers enhanced wear resistance, lower friction and oxidative stability. If the application requires very tight tolerances under severe wear (bearings, thrust washers, bushings, seal rings …), Vespel® SP-22 will prove itself an excellent solution. More info

DATASHEET

Property
UNIT
NORM
Value
SHOW MORE

Vespel® (polyimide) est la marque déposée de plastiques basés sur polyimide à performances élevées, produite par DuPont. Contrairement à la plupart des plastiques, Vespel® ne produit pas de dégagement de gaz significatif même lors de températures élevées, ce qui le rend pratique pour des écrans thermiques à poids léger et pour le support creuset.

Vespel®

Vespel® Il agit aussi bien dans des applications sous vide, jusqu’à des températures cryogènes extrêmement basses. D’autres noms de marque sont Meldin®, Tecasint® et Plavis®.

Vespel® est un matériau plastique résistant à des températures élevées et au fluage, utilisé fréquemment dans des environnements à chaleur extrême, dans lesquels les matériaux thermoplastiques perdent leurs propriétés mécaniques. Vespel®, un alternatif à poids léger pour le métal, est disponible en maintes formulations, inclusif des grades non remplies et plusieurs grades à frottement basse et d’usure. Il a des propriétés mécaniques améliorées et une stabilité thermique supérieure.

Les produits Vespel® sont des polyimides très durables utilisés pour des applications sévères, où la résistance thermique exceptionnelle, l’usure et/ou le frottement bas(se), la puissance et la résistance aux chocs sont désirés. Ce polymère à performances élevées est utilisée la plupart du temps dans le secteur aérospatial, le secteur des semi-conducteurs et la technologie de transportation.

Propriétés principales
  • Stabilité dimensionnelle et thermique
  • Résistance au fluage
  • Résistance chimique et à la chaleur excellente
  • Performances dans des solutions de scellage à pression élevée, à température élevée ou basse
  • Propriétés de roulement et d’usure excellentes
  • Isolation électrique
Applications
  • Semi-conducteurs et machines pour le traitement de matériaux
  • Prises d’essai de puces
  • Bague de serrage de disques
  • Sièges de soupape et applications de scellage
  • Cloches dentées
  • Roulements et coussinets à performances élevées
  • Fermoirs à serrure pour le secteur aérospatial

Vespel® SP-1

Vespel SP1Le polyimide vierge Vespel® SP-1 est une résine de base non chargée. Il affiche les meilleurs résultats que tous les autres grades Vespel® en termes de résistance, d’allongement, de pureté et d’isolation électrique et thermique. Il peut fonctionner à des températures comprises entre la cryogénisation et 300°C. Grâce à sa résistance à la relaxation des contraintes, le Vespel® SP-1 se révèle être un joint extrêmement fiable, surpassant même les joints métal-métal avec des tolérances plus étroites. Plus d’infos

Vespel® SP-21

Vespel SP21Le Vespel® SP-21 est enrichi de graphite (15% en poids). Cet ajout se traduit par une résistance accrue et un frottement réduit. Il présente l’incroyable avantage de pouvoir être utilisé sans lubrification dans diverses applications. Cela fait du Vespel® SP-21 un choix populaire pour les constructeurs automobiles, pour l’utiliser notamment pour les rondelles de butée, les roulements ou les joints. De tous les grades chargés de graphite, le Vespel® SP-21 démontre les meilleures propriétés mécaniques. Plus d’infos

Vespel® SP-211

Vespel SP211Le Vespel® SP-211 contient 10% de PTFE et 15% de graphite en poids. Si vous recherchez un coefficient de frottement encore plus bas, alors le Vespel® SP-211 est le meilleur choix. Ce grade garantit une excellente résistance à l’usure jusqu’à 149°C. Toute application souffrant d’usure et de frottement, comme les paliers lisses ou de glissement, profitera grandement des avantages du Vespel® SP-211.  Plus d’infos

Vespel® SP-22

Vespel SP22Le Vespel® SP-22 est enrichi de 40% de graphite en poids, ce qui résulte en une dilatation thermique minimale et une stabilité dimensionnelle maximale. De plus, ce grade offre une résistance accrue à l’usure, un frottement réduit et une stabilité à l’oxydation. Si l’application nécessite des tolérances serrées en cas d’usure sévère (roulements, rondelles de butée, bagues, joints d’étanchéité, …), alors le Vespel® SP-22 est la solution parfaite. Plus d’infos

DATASHEET

Property
UNIT
NORM
Valeur
SHOW MORE